Thu, 28 Jan 2021

Top South African Sides are Now a Step Closer To Pro14

South Africa News
13 Jan 2021, 10 GMT+10

In April 2021, the top South African sides will be introduced to the pro 14 teams in a new rainbow cup competition. The teams scheduled to participate are the Bulls, Stormers, Lions, and Sharks, before joining a new league with sides from Ireland, Wales, Italy, and Scotland from 2021 -22 permanently. That's good news to the South African online gaming community, which has continued supporting the sports industry by placing wagers on Betway and watching live events.

Six teams have already confirmed they'll be participating in the Rainbow Cup scheduled for 2021. However, the competition is anticipated to end early, with the final game scheduled for March 27. The inclusion of the four South African sides came after talks, which began in September after the SA rugby union voted in favor of this move. The talks were inspired by New Zealand's plans to launch their transTasman competition in Australia.

South Africa participated in Pro 12 in 2017, represented by the South Kings and Cheetahs as a single team. However, the association between the two teams will no longer be present in the upcoming Pro 14. The Cheetahs are still retaining their professional franchise status with South African rugby and are exploring other opportunities to play in international competition.

On the other hand, the Kings have ceased operations since the tournament officials decided to halt the tournament. However, they were keen to support South African rugby ahead of the 2021 British and Irish Lions tour, as they faced the prospects of no international club fixtures to get ready for the test against Warren Gatland's side. Fortunately, there will be enough rugby games on Betway for punters to wager as they continue preparing.

The South African teams hope to include the world cup winning Springboks Siya Kolisi, Duane Vermeulen, Pieter Steph du Toit, Makazole Mapimpi, and Elton Jantjies. Twelve sides have been competing in the pro 14 tournaments. They had been scheduled to play against each other by mid-January in the 11 opening rounds.

The rounds have been reduced to 16 matches, with the final five games scheduled to be played February 20 and 20th March, including three six nations' weekends. The teams which will rank on top will qualify for the 2021 -22 Heineken champions' cup. Once the organizers announce its competition formats for next season, the number of teams eligible for top European clubs will be known. There will be considerations of the pro14 will be required.

The rainbow competitions will begin on April 17, 2021. The competitions will be split into two sides, each having eight pools and 57 games. The group tournament will run for seven rounds before a final on June 19 between the pool winners. Each pool will be consisting of sides from South Africa, wales, and Ireland, while the other side will be from Scotland and Italy

So far, there are no details on the 2021 -22 seasons. Some discussions are ongoing, but the cup competitions indicate involving the South African sides in the tournament. According to the pro 14 CEO, Martin Anayi, they have promising news about the tournament's future and strengthening partnership with South African rugby. Teams and unions have worked tirelessly to keep the sports alive, and there are plans in the future to have a harmonious calendar between the club and the country.

Click here for further information

More South Africa News

Access More

Sign up for South Africa News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!