Sun, 01 Aug 2021

Ernst van Rhyn to lead WP in Currie Cup

18 Jun 2021, 17:43 GMT+10

Lock Ernst van Rhyn will captain Western Province in their Carling Currie Cup campaign, which kicks off against the Bulls in Pretoria on Saturday.

The former SA Schools and Junior Springbok captain will lead Western Province out at Loftus Versfeld for a north-south derby which kicks off at 16:00 on Saturday.

Hooker JJ Kotze, flank Niel Otto and No 8 Evan Roos will all make their Western Province debuts having been named in the starting line-up, while lock Justin Basson and loose forward Hacjivah Dayimani - on loan with a view to making a permanent move to Cape Town - are set to make their first appearance for Western Province from the bench.

Sergeal Petersen is at fullback and will link up with Seabelo Senatla and Sihle Njezula in an exciting back three. Dan du Plessis and Rikus Pretorius are in midfield, with Abner van Reenen and Paul de Wet making up the halfback pairing.

Roos and Otto are joined by Johan du Toit in the loose trio, with David Meihuizen partnering captain Van Rhyn at lock. In the front row, Kotze will have experienced props Ali Vermaak and Neethling Fouche on either side of him.

Western Province head coach John Dobson says they are focused on making a convincing start to their Carling Currie Cup campaign.

"It is always a challenge playing up at Loftus and we know that we will have to be at our best to start with a win," Dobson said.

'We have got some really exciting players and combinations in the team and we are looking forward to seeing what they can produce on Saturday."



15 Richard Kriel, 14 Sebastiaan Jobb, 13 Sango Xamlashe (captain), 12 Louritz van der Schyff, 11 Kefentse Mahlo, 10 Jandre Burger, 9 Johan Mulder, 8 Jaco Bezuidenhout, 7 Jaco Labuschagne, 6 Henco Beukes, 5 Tiaan de Klerk, 4 JJ Scheepers, 3 Francois Klopper, 2 Werner Fourie, 1 Simphiwe Matanzima

Substitutes (from): 16 Llewelyn Classen, 17 Dewald Donald, 18 Mhleli Dlamini, 19 Adolph Visser, 20 Eduan Lubbe, 21 Tiaan Fourie, 22 Kabelo Mokoena, 23 Niel Beukes, 24 Uzile Tele

Western Province

15 Sergeal Petersen, 14 Sihle Njezula, 13 Rikus Pretorius, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Abner van Reenen, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Johan du Toit, 6 Niel Otto, 5 David Meihuizen, 4 Ernst van Rhyn (captain), 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 JJ Kotze, 1 Ali Vermaak

Substitutes (from): 16 Sazi Sandi, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Justin Basson, 20 Hacjivah Dayimani, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Tim Swiel, 23 Cornel Smit, 24 Jason Alexander, 25 De Wet Marais, 26 Chris Schreuder

Source: News24

More South Africa News

Access More

Sign up for South Africa News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!