Thu, 25 Feb 2021

EP Elephants coach Peter de Villiers hopes the British & Irish Lions tour takes place in South Africa - and not abroad.

The Lions tour scheduled for this year is hanging in the balance due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic.

One of the contingency plans discussed by the Lions board includes playing the series in the UK and Ireland.

However De Villiers, who coached the Springboks to a 2-1 series win over the Lions in 2009, believes if South Africa can't host the Lions this year the tour should be delayed until 2022.

The new EP mentor took to social media on Monday to share his views on the matter:

De Villiers wrote.

Full 2021 British & Irish Lions tour schedule:

- Saturday 26 June: British & Irish Lions v Japan - Murrayfield, Edinburgh

- Saturday 3 July: British & Irish Lions v Stormers - Cape Town Stadium, Cape Town

- Wednesday 7 July: British & Irish Lions v South Africa 'Invitational' - Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth

- Saturday 10 July: British & Irish Lions v Sharks - Kings Park, Durban

- Wednesday 14 July: British & Irish Lions v South Africa 'A' Team - Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit

- Saturday 17 July: British & Irish Lions v Bulls - Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

- Saturday 24 July (first Test): Springboks v British & Irish Lions - FNB Stadium, Johannesburg

- Saturday 31 July (second Test): Springboks v British & Irish Lions - Cape Town Stadium, Cape Town

- Saturday 7 August (third Test): Springboks v British & Irish Lions - Ellis Park, Johannesburg

- Compiled by Sport24 staff

Source: News24

More South Africa News

Access More

Sign up for South Africa News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!