Mon, 30 Nov 2020

The European Tour's South African Swing will continue next month when the 21st Alfred Dunhill Championship will be contested from 26-29 November.

On Tuesday, the Sunshine Tour confirmed the return of the Joburg Open (19-22 November), which will be co-sanctioned with the European Tour.

The Alfred Dunhill Championship will be played at Leopard Creek Country Club and will feature prize money of R29 million - the largest purse on the Sunshine Tour this season.

Next month's tournament will be played according to the strict health protocols of both the South African government and the European Tour.

The European Tour confirmed that there will be no spectators on site at the majestic Leopard Creek.

It also means that the Alfred Dunhill Championship will feature twice on the 2020/21 European Tour schedule after Spain's Pablo Larrazabal claimed the title in the season opener last November.

European Tour chief executive Keith Pelley hailed the efforts of chairperson Johann Rupert and the Alfred Dunhill on maintaining the longstanding partnership between the Sunshine Tour and European Tour.

"Leopard Creek is one of the most unique venues on our Tour, and we are very much looking forward to returning there this year."

The Alfred Dunhill Championship is one of the most eagerly anticipated tournaments of any year with its unique setting and ambience; Leopard Creek nestling on the banks of the Crocodile River overlooking the magnificent Kruger National Park.

Commissioner of the Sunshine Tour, Thomas Abt said: "The Alfred Dunhill Championship is one of our flagship tournaments and we are extremely grateful to be able to announce it as part of our schedule, and with such a significant increase in prize money.

"I would like to thank our Chairman, Johann Rupert, for his unflinching support of our efforts to restart our Tour, and for Alfred Dunhill's longstanding support of professional golf in South Africa."

The splendour of the location has been reflected in the quality of its winners since 2000 with Major champions Ernie Els, Justin Rose, Adam Scott and Charl Schwartzel among those who have lifted the trophy.

- Compiled by Sport24 staff

Source: News24

More South Africa News

Access More

Sign up for South Africa News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!