Wed, 03 Jun 2020

'Dis mos jou mense': FF Plus keeps it in the Family

15 May 2019, 05:40 GMT+10

'Dis mos jou mense': FF Plus keeps it in the Family Jan Gerber SHARE THIS 2019-05-14 20:34 FF Plus leaders Corn Mulder, Pieter Groenewald and Wouter Wessels, announcing their plans to ask the Electoral Court to deregister the BLF. (Jan Gerber/News24)

In keeping with one of the promises on its election posters - Dis mos jou mense [It's your people] - the FF Plus's much bigger new caucus will have several familial ties among the 10 members it will send to the National Assembly.

For the first time in its existence, the party - which has been represented in every Parliament since 1994 - will have female representation in the National Assembly.

Member of the previous Parliament Wouters Wessels will be joined by his wife, Tammy Wessels, who served as an MPL in the Free State, while party leader Pieter Groenewald will be joined by his son Michal Groenewald, the party's provincial leader in the North West.

Veteran MP and Western Cape leader Corne Mulder will return to Parliament, to be joined by a "distant cousin" and Gauteng party leader Jaco Mulder. Corne Mulder's brother is former party leader Pieter Mulder, who retired as an MP in 2017.

Grandson of apartheid premier and president Hendrik Verwoerd, Wynand Boshoff, will also take up one of the seats. He is the party's leader in the Northern Cape and a resident of Orania.

The other members are Phillip van Staden, Eastern Cape leader Piet Mey and Heloise Jordaan.

"The FF Plus confirmed its outstanding growth at the ballot box with an able and experienced team of members of Parliament to represent the interests of its voters at the highest political platforms," Groenewald said in a statement.

He pointed out that three of their 10 members, himself included, have PhDs. The others are Corne Mulder and Boshoff. He said Jordaan and Tammy Wessels are practising lawyers.

"The team provides a good mix of youth and experience while women will for the first time represent the FF Plus in Parliament."

The party will also have two members in the National Council of Provinces - Fanie du Toit from North West and Armand Cloete from the Free State. Colourful veteran Peter Marais will represent the party in the Western Cape legislature.

Peter Marais - from corruption and sexual assault claims to dreams of surfing over transvestites and naked women

The party has three seats in the Gauteng legislature, which will be taken up be former MP Anton Alberts, and Amanda de Lange and Kobus Hoffman. Theo Coetzee will represent the party in the Eastern Cape legislature, and Danie Coetzee in the Northern Cape legislature.

Werner Weber will take the party's seat in the Mpumalanga legislature, Marcelle Maritz in Limpopo and Devar Smit in the Free State. De Wet Nel and Erns Kleynhans will represent the party in North West.

More South Africa News

Access More

Sign up for South Africa News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!