Tue, 23 Jul 2019

SA trio learn fate in draw for WGC Match Play

26 Mar 2019, 22:13 GMT+10

Cape Town - Three South Africans will tee it up at this week's World Golf Championship-Dell Technologies Match Play at Austin Country Club on Wednesday.

The world's top 64-ranked available golfers have been drawn into groups of four and will face each other over the first three days of tournament play.

The winner of each of the 16 groups will advance to the elimination stage over the weekend.

SA's top ranked golfer Louis Oosthuizen has been grouped alongside Englishman Tommy Fleetwood, American Kyle Stanley and An Byeong-hun of South Korea.

Branden Grace faces a tough group as he competes against world No 1 Dustin Johnson, Japanese Hideki Matsuyama and American Chez Reavie.

Meanwhile, red-hot Justin Harding will face four-time Major champion Rory McIlroy, England's Matthew Fitzpatrick and American Luke List.

Harding, ranked 49th, needs to put up a solid performance in Texas to maintain his position within the Top 50 of the rankings ahead of next month's Masters.

Round robin groups for PGA Tour WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play tournament starting at Austin Country Club, Austin, Texas on Wednesday:

Group 1

Dustin Johnson (USA)

Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)

Branden Grace (RSA)

Chez Reavie (USA)

Group 2

Justin Rose (ENG)

Gary Woodland (USA)

Eddie Pepperell (ENG)

Emiliano Grillo (ARG)

Group 3

Brooks Koepka (USA)

Alex Noren (SWE)

Li Haotong (CHN)

Tom Lewis (ENG)

Group 4

Rory McIlroy (NIR)

Matthew Fitzpatrick (ENG)

Justin Harding (RSA)

Luke List (USA)

Group 5

Justin Thomas (USA)

Keegan Bradley (USA)

Matt Wallace (ENG)

Lucas Bjerregaard (DEN)

Group 6

Bryson DeChambeau (USA)

Marc Leishman (AUS)

Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA)

Russell Knox (SCO)

Group 7

Francesco Molinari (ITA)

Webb Simpson (USA)

Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

Satoshi Kodaira (JPN)

Group 8

Jon Rahm (ESP)

Matt Kuchar (USA)

J.B. Holmes (USA)

Kim Si-woo (KOR)

Group 9

Xander Schauffele (USA)

Rafa Cabrera Bello (ESP)

Tyrell Hatton (ENG)

Lee Westwood (ENG)

Group 10

Paul Casey (ENG)

Cameron Smith (AUS)

Charles Howell III (USA)

Abraham Ancer (MEX)

Group 11

Tommy Fleetwood (ENG)

Louis Oosthuizen (RSA)

Kyle Stanley (USA)

An Byeong-hun (KOR)

Group 12

Jason Day (AUS)

Phil Mickelson (USA)

Henrik Stenson (SWE)

Jim Furyk (USA)

Group 13

Tiger Woods (USA)

Patrick Cantlay (USA)

Brandt Snedeker (USA)

Aaron Wise (USA)

Group 14

Tony Finau (USA)

Ian Poulter (ENG)

Kevin Kisner (USA)

Keith Mitchell (USA)

Group 15

Bubba Watson (USA)

Jordan Spieth (USA)

Billy Horschel (USA)

Kevin Na (USA)

Group 16

Patrick Reed (USA)

Sergio Garcia (ESP)

Shane Lowry (IRL)

Andrew Putnam (USA)

More South Africa News

Access More

Sign up for South Africa News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!